five years in five minutes

25 Feb

five minutes, no edits, happy friday!

linking up with lisa jo and her 5 minute friday fun. check out the rest of the writers here!

 

february 2006

a freshman in every way, i embraced everything.

hindsight was not on the agenda.

until now.

looking back on five years ago, i see through mixed emotions.

i miss her long hair, but laugh at the hundred-dollar highlights.

i see me in her eyes, but note changes in the face.

i can hear her friends laughing, exploring her hometown wal-mart, stopping for a photoshoot in arts & crafts, then immediately rushing home to change their facebook photos to matching garden scenes.

her laugh rings higher and louder than all the rest.

i still break out that coat when days can’t decide on a season, and i can’t decide how i feel about her.

i hope she’s happy with where we’ve ended up, a different kind of garden, new things blooming alongside the plastic bouquet that now sits at the threshold of the next 5 years.

i might break out that loud laugh today, just for her.

17 Responses to “five years in five minutes”

  1. Nicole February 25, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    This is my first time linking up with 5 Minute Friday. Fun! I loved reading yours!

  2. elizabeth February 25, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Love it! And OMG! Highlights!

    • dearabbyleigh February 25, 2011 at 11:20 am #

      i know, right? hence the nickname: “kelly clarkson”

      • elizabeth February 25, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

        That’s where I’ve seen those before! I knew they looked familiar!

  3. Lacy February 25, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    5 years? oh my oh my. liking this new garden :)

  4. Mary @ Giving Up on Perfect February 25, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    You should definitely break out that laugh! I LOVE how you used a photo to look back. Makes me want to find some pics of my own from 2006…

  5. jenn February 25, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    Superb! What a great way to look at things :)

  6. Lisa-Jo @thegypsymama February 25, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    Oooo this might be my favorite FMF of yours yet. What a great retrospective. And a great photo. And I think I saw her breaking it down in a flashmob in Nashville a while back :)

    LJ

  7. Emily Rose February 25, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    You know how I feel about laughter, let it loose baby! I love this flashback. I love her. I love you. I love my own plastic flower bouquet made possible by only the A-team.

  8. Mary February 25, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    I am here via Lisa-Jo’s 5 minute Friday. :) Love your post!

  9. Loni February 25, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    Stopping by from Gypsy Mama! Such a lovely picture! But, yes, expensive highlights! WOW! (I buy the box at Walmart!) But neat memories! Thanks for sharing!

  10. andrea February 26, 2011 at 12:27 am #

    “i see me in her eyes, but note changes in the face.” that’s exactly how i feel when i look at photos of myself..really from anything more than a year ago. isn’t it crazy how much can change, and at the same time NOT change in five years?

    in other news, i honestly to goodnessly cannot wait to get my creative brain focused this way. soon and very soon, i promise.

    • dearabbyleigh February 26, 2011 at 10:13 am #

      i can just hear my blog looking back on this time next year – “i recognize the words, but note changes in the layout”

      she’s ready :)
      love!

  11. Mom March 19, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    My absolute favorite. I love all the seasons you have explored and all the flowers that have adorned your journey.

Leave a Reply

