a willy wonka christmas

9 Dec

it’s hard to avoid christmas in our little town of bethlehem.

not that you’d want to, of course.

but this christmas overdrive has driven me to some crazy places.

like candy making.

thanks to this tutorial from my favorite Tasty Kitchen, i attempted the impossible: toffee.

and i SUCCEEDED!

pair that with my favorite classic – peppermint bark – and you’ve got some great little gifts for our neighbors and friends.

(pepp. bark recipe: melt white chocolate,

add crushed peppermints, lay out, put in fridge)

i didn’t document the process – it was messy and fast and the recipe on Tasty Kitchen does a much better job – but i did snap these shots of the results!

merry candy christmas!

7 Responses to “a willy wonka christmas”

  1. ashleynashville3 December 9, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    i think i am going to try to make the toffee this weekend with my mom!

    • dearabbyleigh December 9, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

      yay! let me know how it turns out! and don’t use a plastic spoon. it will . . . umm . . . melt.

  2. Donna S December 9, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    ahhh.. YUMMM.. and by the way I didn’t see MY name on one of those tins!! :) ha! We always make peppermint bark, with Wilbur Chocolate around the corner I have to make chocolates! I love toffee and have always been afraid to try to make it, now you’ve inspired me! I might just try to whip some up today! Thanks for sharing.

    • dearabbyleigh December 9, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

      try it! tasty kitchen is always a safe bet :).

  3. andrea December 9, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    yum! i want some! i guess this means i should probably get on top of my Christmas baking/gifting stuff. *sigh*

    • dearabbyleigh December 9, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

      something to do when your muse is off galavanting elsewhere, ay?

  4. michelle December 24, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    Dear Abby Leigh,
    This sounds so good. As I have baked more cookies than you can imagine for people, gone through more than 16 dozen eggs, countless pounds of flour, sugar & butter, this seems simpler and just as festive & delicious. Its funny, we both check out Pioneer Woman!
    I hope to make it from my town of Gilbertsville to yours for the Peeps festival next week. Merry Christmas!
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

