a suitcase full of rambling metaphors

4 Nov

blurry, buoyant balloons

tomorrow, i rise early. painfully so.

and, chauffeured by one sleepy husband, stumble to the city of brotherly love, to catch a metal bird to my home for half a decade.

my home-heart is split between this new place and the old.

how quickly the seed of settling sprouts roots and digs deep into this third floor soil. i ache with equal parts homesickness for so many places. some of them not planted at all. nomadic, moving day-to-day, season-upon-season with the people i love.

tomorrow i fly to those parts. trying to catch them all in once place for perhaps the last time.

i’m not there to hold the ties of their balloons and be sure they stay bundled together. nor do i want them to be so anchored.

this week, i will skip the small talk and go about the hard work of cutting them free. a dream loosener. my flight from old to new has made this calling apparent. we are too buoyant to be held by what is expected.

and in the midst of this loosening, i hope to find my lost red balloon. the one that holds what i’m truly meant to do. perhaps if i squint hard enough, i’ll see it out my window at 30,000 feet.

i hope my seat mates don’t mind my rambling . . .

13 Responses to “a suitcase full of rambling metaphors”

  1. RH November 4, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    You made your mother cry!

    • dearabbyleigh November 4, 2010 at 9:40 am #

      ha! that has to be the best and funniest comment ever.
      thanks dad. love.

  2. AnnJanette Toth November 4, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    The beauty is that your location does not define you but it does influence and mold you. :)

  3. ashleynashville3 November 4, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    yay! back to some southern roots. they run deep, good luck trying to cut them :-)

    • dearabbyleigh November 4, 2010 at 11:44 am #

      word. would never want to cut those roots! just feel like many of the branches of that tree are ready to shed their leaves and start over – getting confused by too many metaphors :)

  4. Mom November 4, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

    But they were good tears! I’ve cut many of those balloons lose and found many new ones to anchor my dreams to over the years.

  5. To Think Is To Create November 5, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    “we are too buoyant to be held by what is expected.”

    ah yes, friend.

    thank you for this. <3

    • dearabbyleigh November 5, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

      Love

    • sethhaines November 7, 2010 at 7:34 am #

      This was the same line I was going to quote. Dang-ol-shewt that’s good.

      Thinking on this one.

  6. Abby December 16, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    Just came from ‘gypsy mama’…you were the one before me…so I think I understand this was when you were leaving Philly? Aw…that is where I come from…suburbs, not downtown, but have plenty of memories and family and friends there…so, yes, it is ‘home’. And, the more I am away the more I call it home…but yes, ‘we are too buoyant to be held by what is expected’ and all of the wanderings (i’ve had quite a few) i’ve decided make me identify all the more with Him who left all He knew to take on the strange and unknown…but, love that you love philly too!

    • dearabbyleigh December 16, 2010 at 9:39 am #

      another abby!! thanks for stopping by.

      we actually just moved to bethlehem, pa (about an hour or so from philly) and i was flying back to visit our previous home in Nashville for the first time!

      we do love it hear, though, so much deep and wonderful history! i identify with your wanderings and the peace of Him who knows the unknown!

      philly love to you and yours! happy christmas :)

  7. Jenny December 16, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    It’s amazing how quickly roots grow deep and how impossible they are to sever. I have just crossed the point where I have lived in Nashville longer than I lived growing up outside of Chicago. Chicago holds memory of my parents and closely tied family, cold winters, snow, uncertainty about who I was meant to be. Nashville is new memories, finding my life partner and best friend, my children, this little family of ours. One is distant and one is right now, but both are important.

  8. Lisa-Jo @thegypsymama December 16, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

    Yes, the split heart. I suffer from that condition too. And find sometimes it gets much much worse before it gets better. And then it goes back to being worse.

    Strange, this living with feet and heart in different places. It helps to think that perhaps Jesus knew who it felt like – as far away from home as he lived.

    Thanks for the poetry, Abby Leigh. So glad I got to read it.

    ~Lisa-Jo

Leave a Reply

