concrete jungle

28 Oct

i kid you not. everytime i’ve been in nyc (count ’em, twice this Fall), i’ve heard that song.

the first trip, a completely normal-looking young woman just started belting it in the street: “new yoooooooorrrkkkkkkk . . . concrete jungle where dreams are made of , there’s nothing you can’t do . . .  “

it just wells up in you, when you’re there.

last week, when i took a day trip with an NYC travel-pro, we stumbled on a roller-skating dance party in central park (why not, right?), and guess what they were getting their skate on to? “new yoooooorrrrrrkkkkk . . . these streets will make you feel brand new, the lights will inspire you . . . “

and if i’d had my skates, i would have joined them.

everything it says is true. except maybe the part about de niro – i didn’t see him around this time. there is something about cities like new york that just makes you feel huge and tiny at the same time. like you could take on the world or disappear from the face of it in an instant.

i can’t get enough of that jam.

and i can never get enough pictures of nyc.

never enough central park:

perfect park day

strawberry fields

fountains galore

statues - even more!

never enough secret spaces:

high line park

rooftop gardens

never enough tourist fun:

J-E-T-S

rocke-lego-center

signs of christmas

i just can’t get enough!

sing it with me . . . “new yooooorrrrrkkkkkkk”

9 Responses to “concrete jungle”

  1. ashleynashville3 October 28, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    i love NYC! i havent been in a couple years, but when I did go at Christmas it BLEW ME AWAY!

  2. Shawn Somerfield October 28, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    I know JUST how you feel…I can never get enough of NYC either. What a great perk to where you live now! Jealous!

  3. alita October 28, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    Sadly, I have never visited NYC. Yes you read that right. Never. And not because I have lacked the ambition to tour the city, but in 4 more years I will be going with my sister for a girls vacation. Yes… 4 years.

    I’ll have to take your word that those lights make you feel brand new for now. (heavy sigh)

    • dearabbyleigh October 28, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

      you will LOVE it – even if it is 4 years away. let’s start the countdown!

  4. sarah October 28, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

    Such great pictures!!! I especially love the “strawberry fields”. I haven’t been to NYC in years and years & I just love it there.

    Thanks so much for commenting on my blog; so happy to have found yours!

  5. Allison @ Alli 'n Son October 28, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

    Now I wanna go back! It’s been, oh man, like 10+ years since I’ve been there. I need to get back and bring hubby with me, he’s never gone.

  6. AnnJanette Toth November 2, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    Looks like a super fun trip!! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. a lazy, linky christmas card « Dear Abby Leigh - December 23, 2010

    […] come in 2011 on that excitement. her favorite things about life right now include trips to NYC with visiting friends, exercising with jillian michaels, walking the streets of our little town, fixing up our new […]

Leave a Reply

