virtual coffee: sip 3

19 Oct

hello coffee mavens of the world.

i welcome you to tuesday with open arms and a rainy window.

“hard to believe it’s been a week,” it always begins.

you’d think by now we’d be accustomed to the tick-tock, calendar x’s piling up, the same pattern day-after-day.

but it still sneaks up on you, doesn’t it? well, it does me!

this last bunch of minutes, hours, days, was a good one. work was done and the apartment rarely left. sometimes that’s the best way. much of my brainpower has gone to preparations for the Relevant conference, where I’m heading thursday morning. there i’ll meet up with my former-boss/dear friend and we’ll spend the weekend talking kids’ books, faith, and blogging with 200 beautiful ladies.

i’m thrilled to be meeting so many of the little boxes i know and love online, many for the first time, and i’m equally thrilled to be driving the 2 hours to harrisburg so i don’t have to fret about packing a bag for the flight. i get to bring everything i can fit – regardless of the ounces. that also means, of course, that i bring along some anxiety, insecurities, and big, fat question marks. i look up to many of these women, but i’m not where they are yet. they are mothers, a lot of them, and all have walked struggles i fear still lay ahead.

so i enter this hoping only to learn from them, to offer what i can from my unique plot of the earth, and to be genuine.

i know i will have lots to share next week, over coffee, and i will post some updates before then.

and i promise pictures! you won’t believe the beauty of these women. they glow!

cheers.

13 Responses to “virtual coffee: sip 3”

  1. Stacey October 19, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    sipping my sbux kdr and really excited to meet you this week!

    Love this – “so i enter this hoping only to learn from them, to offer what i can from my unique plot of the earth, and to be genuine.”

    — me too!

    • dearabbyleigh October 19, 2010 at 9:11 am #

      cheers stacey! have a second cup for me. we’ve got to be caffeinated for the fun that’s about to ensue!

  2. Amy October 19, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    So looking forward to meeting you in a couple of days!

  3. Sara October 19, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    Oh, Abby Leigh! This line…

    “i bring along some anxiety, insecurities, and big, fat question marks. i look up to many of these women, but i’m not where they are yet.”

    I gather you were speaking about motherhood, but really I feel the same way! I think you summed it up beautifully!

    P.S.–I want to talk children’s books with you! And how do I get to be a “Tommy Mommy”?

    • dearabbyleigh October 19, 2010 at 9:11 am #

      thanks sara! come chat with us at the booth. we’d love to have you :)

  4. Jennifer October 19, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    Love this, Abby. Not only will you learn from others, but they will learn from you. Your effortless conversation style, your easy smile….those women will love getting to meet you in person.

  5. AnnJanette Toth October 19, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    I concur. I am excited to go to the Relevant conference. I am already amazed at the women who will be attending as I read their tweets and blogs and wonder where they find the time in their busy lives to share it with the world. See you soon!

  6. ashleynashville3 October 19, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    harrisburg! my couz works in the capital there.

    that’s all i got.

    oh and you inspired me to share a cup today, but i am sure you saw.

  7. alita October 19, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    Yes weeks do fly by in x’s crossed on the calendar around here, too. Enjoy your conference. Enjoy your time.

  8. Corinne October 19, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

    Enjoy the conference! I dropped the ball on getting there… but imagine it will be an incredible experience :)

  9. Mom October 20, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    This does a mother’s heart good. I love thinking of you with these women Abby.

Leave a Reply

