virtual coffee; sip one

5 Oct

if we were really having coffee today, i would order mine extra hot. i’ve never understood why people do that, but today i would appreciate the scalding of my tastebuds for the break in the chill.

i would tell you about my slow drive down market street to meet you, and how i wasn’t sure i’d make it through the fog and misty rain. will it ever stop raining? then i would whisper that i truly love it and don’t want it to stop. cozy is a friend of this fast falling autumn, and cozy is a favorite friend of mine.

if you asked me about my week, i wouldn’t have answers. things are both up in the air and settling in at the same time which makes no sense even to a metaphor junkie like myself. i’m just waiting, and sipping, and enjoying the company of a new hometown and a new space to figure that out.

i would tell you how excited i am that my in-laws are coming to our new town this weekend, and how grateful i am that i don’t have a 9-5 to keep me from entertaining and just being with family.

i would ask for a refill, extra hot of course, wrap my scarf/blanket tighter and listen to you talk, hopefully for a long time, so i don’t have to go back out in the foggy mist of fall.

cheers.

linking up with amy and friends for the first time. because, why not? in this new town i need more coffee dates. looking forward to checking in on the other bloggers there.

not a blogger? not part of virtual coffee? have coffee with me in the comments below, i promise to buy us a scone to share.

happy tuesday!

18 Responses to “virtual coffee; sip one”

  1. RH October 5, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    Look forward to a real coffee date soon. I miss hearing about a day in the life of Abby.

  2. Kristine Neeley October 5, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    This makes me miss loitering.
    I love how you described the space in which things are both up in the air and settling. I can imagine that this sort of change – this sort of being in a new place with a new schedule and newer (not lesser) activities is slightly refining. There is not as much to consume or take up or fall into patterns when patterns are only just being established.

    I just finished my cup.
    But I’m about to grab another :)

    • dearabbyleigh October 5, 2010 at 9:23 am #

      i think you just said it better than i did, and THAT is why we metaphor-junkies have to stick together. so good to be understood.

      loiter somewhere for me today, okay?

  3. Jennifer Womble October 5, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    So beautiful, I love your writing!!

    • dearabbyleigh October 5, 2010 at 9:54 am #

      thanks jen. that means a lot. hope you have an extra big cup of coffee today as you prep for vacay!!

  4. little sis October 5, 2010 at 10:36 am #

    we’ll be having coffee after coffee together soon, but for now, i’m enthralled with this idea! i popped over to Amy’s to see where it all began…love it!

    i’m on my way out the door now to buy a cup from one of my many favorite coffee houses, maybe bongo, it is the closest anyway. i have failed this week to go to the store and buy coffee for my pot, alas, i am a busy college student. if you were here i would come over and you would make me coffee, i’m sure. but for now, bongo will have to suffice.

    instead of chatting with a friend over this soon-to-be-held cup of joe, i’ll be heading right back here to spend the morning with my laptop and all of the assignments that it has been begging me to finish so that it can have a rest.

    love you and your virtual coffee. muah!

    • dearabbyleigh October 5, 2010 at 11:17 am #

      glad you like it. feel free to join in here every week.

      i would die for bongo. this place is seriously lacking in cozy coffee shops. entrepreneurial venture?

  5. Shawn Somerfield October 5, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    Ooooo, I wish I was sitting across that table from you and hearing even more about your new life there. Thanks for the window in each day! Love!

  6. Charity October 5, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    The chill is definitely here to stay. I do love autumn, but I don’t love having cold hands and feet – cozy and I are as thick as thieves. Here’s to another cup of hot, hot coffee!

  7. Brooke G October 5, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

    What a great first sip! Sounds like you have a lot going on in your world… a move?? I hope you are finding your way and enjoy your visitors! :D

  8. Corinne October 5, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    Extra hot sounds perfect right now, as I’m freezing! :)
    Yay for enjoying family and just being…

  9. alita October 5, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    Extra HOT is the only way I take it. And I adore misty fog, too. I look forward to more HOT coffee breaks with you.

  10. Jacklyn Johnston October 5, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    Ab, I love this post. I was just thinking today driving to school how secretly I love the gray skies of fall. There’s something calming and yet exciting about it. And now that we’re both in places where we actually have a true fall, I am loving it. I love reading your writing!

    • dearabbyleigh October 5, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

      Thanks jack! Can’t wait to hear what you decide to cook up this first true fall weekend!

  11. julie October 6, 2010 at 2:33 am #

    ooh,extra hot sounds so hot! I’m still drinking iced mochas over here in AZ. It was 104 degrees here on Sat. Nice to meet you! :)

  12. kelly October 6, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    Hey, nice having coffee with you. I love your header, and I’m totally a metaphor junkie too!

  13. ashleynashville3 October 6, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    its freezing INDOORS. tnels, what are you going to do! if our coffee didnt taste like licking pavement, I would make myself a nice big mug and then talk to you about your halloween plans.

    only if…

    • dearabbyleigh October 6, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

      haha. i feel you on that indoors chill. forgot to call the gas co. to turn it on until it was already freezing so they’re coming today. brrrr.

      halloween – i think there is a literary costume party in the works. any ideas? that might be another post!

Leave a Reply

