small victory in the arts and crafts corner

24 Sep

since i started this new “venture” we’ll call it, i’ve noticed my eyes and head are pretty exhuasted by the end of the day. the computer screen gets to me now more than it did when i was in the office, walking around, going to meetings, doing other things. so by the time evening rolls around, i need something non-computer to occupy my time.

“why not take up knitting?” you might ask.

you’ll have to direct that question to the half-knit scarf that has been in the top of my childhood closet since 7th grade.

nope, knitting not for me. something about the hand-eye coordination and preciseness involved doesn’t gel. i’m a bite more . . . abstract.

so i tried this little doozy while watching some funny tv last night. i could laugh but didn’t have to stare at the screen – win!

we went from this (a months worth of cardboard rolls):

to this (a puppy dog? a monster?):

not what i was going for.

so i rearranged:

much better!

i glued/stapled it together:

and voila:

in the end – it took mostly staples, and is way less even than the sample version (see tutorial for real directions i did NOT follow), BUT – it’s something on the wall and i like it! i also *may* have had to re-staple it this morning when i got up and a few petals fell to the ground . . .

it’s a work in progress, and cost zero buckaroonies. and is recyclable. that’s my kind of art.

what do you think?

2 Responses to “small victory in the arts and crafts corner”

  1. ashleynashville3 September 24, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    so creative! good job!

  2. Lacy September 24, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

    I love it, I love it! And I’m stealing it… for my cubicle. I’ll email this weekend, I promise. Lots to say, lots to hear.

Leave a Reply

