cousins

23 Aug

my parents are both siblings to just one, linking me up with 6 biological cousins. the addition of some grandchildren of my step-grandparents around my age brings the grand cousin total to around a dozen, spread out over the country. n’orleans, central ohio, illinois, indiana. living in east tennessee most of my life, this made for once a year or so hangouts. my favorite cousin memories are at this age:

conveniently, i think this is actually the correct date. maggie and i at almost four years old. climbing trees. causing trouble. wearing awesome sweatshirts. i loved summers on the farm in illinois bailing hay and feeding the horses. i didn’t love getting stung by the same bee 20 times in the barn loft wearing one such sweatshirt several years later. (i know it’s not supposed to be possible to sting more than once, but this mutant bee never heard that rumor.)

regardless – this is a post about cousins, i labeled it as such to keep me focused.

there is something special about this relationship. not siblings, not stuck together too much, but growing up together, one summer at a time. one family vacation at a time.

one perk of marrying into the barnhart family has been getting a peek at their cousinship, and technically, getting a heap of new ones. this week we got to see most of the cousins on one side of luke’s family. this encounter between luke and his 7 yr old cousin henry is just too wonderful not to document:

the boys helmet up for their driveway luge attempt

gaining speed

they zoom past, luke steers with henry's head

approaching a perilous curve

no problems

walk of victory

i just can’t get over that red helmet flying down the driveway. henry was our entertainment all week. i leave you with this gem.

hug a cousin!

6 Responses to “cousins”

  1. Maggie August 23, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    Abby I just love the picture. I randomly thought to look at your blog and the first thing I saw was an old school pic of me and you! :) want a coincidence!
    hope all is well for you and luke! :) maybe I will see you over the holidays back in IL! :)

    • dearabbyleigh August 23, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

      that is so funny! i was about to send this to you to be sure you saw the picture! hope you are well and i’d love to see you!

  2. Kristen August 23, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

    2 things: i love luke’s socks.

    and that final picture of henry is amazing! beautiful composition. im obsessed with it. i might just photoshop on my cousin’s head and pretend i took it. lovely.

    • dearabbyleigh August 24, 2010 at 8:42 am #

      it’s definitely going on my wall! (and those socks are my favorite too!)

  3. ashleynashville3 August 24, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    so cute, abby! love it. My cousins are spread out all over the place too, so when we get together it’s always a ton of laughs :-)

    Hope things are going well in the PA!

  4. little sis August 24, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    I feel honored that I got to be included in this extra special cousins spotlight, since I’m your sister :) love the pictures, love you, and love your sharings!

Leave a Reply

