family vacation, as in vacation from family

15 Jul

i did not want this vacation.

i’m a victim of circumstances! i plead bad-timing!

alas. they came, and went, the beach in their future, packing in mine.

i was lucky to be on the way, to steal an hour with them and a taste of the laughter to come.

with my family.

and beachward they went.

while my more, most, mostest family is also away.

and i realize – why i need them, all.

the growing weed of a gorgeous eleven-year-old.

the sisterfriend who’s grown out of my shadow and into my world.

the mom who rescues me from krogemergencies with a laugh that makes me feel so close, to her and the loving dad, so proud of all of us, no matter what.

as they sit on the beach, and i on the couch: i’m oh so grateful for each of them, and for my new wee family of two and all the other arms of family surrounding us.

i’ve heard people say, that they need a vacation from their family . . .

tonight, i strongly disagree.

6 Responses to “family vacation, as in vacation from family”

  1. Shawn Somerfield July 16, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    “grown out of my shadow and into my world”…what beautiful writing, Abby. Love this post.

  2. Dadeo July 16, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    Wish you were here! You’ve got quite the adventure in front of you, young lady! God’s got all kinds of surprises and blessings waiting for you.

  3. Momma July 16, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    Momentary tears on the beach…I miss the one who makes me smile oh so much.

  4. Sister(s) July 16, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    We’re so glad to be reminded that you need us, because we certainly need you, biggest sister! Wish you were here, but we love picturing you packing and organizing – getting ready for your ADVENTURE! Wish we were still taking that picture :)

    Elena is glad to know that you think of her as a weed…jkk!

  5. ashleynashville3 July 16, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    i totally agree, abby. my family is away from me (besides my sis) about 90% of the year.

Leave a Reply

