success!

25 Apr

2:05:29.

seemed like a lot longer than that – but it flew by with the help of my cheerleaders:

training partner:

pig tails:

and salt pills :).

thinking about doing another one in the fall – who’s with me?

13 Responses to “success!”

  1. Shawn Somerfield April 25, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    Way to go, Abby! What a great accomplishment!

  2. Lacy April 25, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    If I wouldn’t have been betting on horse races I would have been betting thousands of dollars on you beating 2:30, and I would have won, and then shared with you my earnings. It would have been much more satisfactory, especially if I were able to communicate with my subject to pump them up and give them praise. Though I suppose you could still do that with a horse, but it’s not as fulfilling. Happy recovery!

    • dearabbyleigh April 25, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

      this comment made me laugh and i had to read it five times to understand it, but what else is new?? thanks friend!! it was fun!! wanna run one with me in the fall?

  3. Lacy April 25, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    I was wondering today why I didn’t even run this one and I didn’t come up with anything. Let’s! It depends on where we are I suppose, but it could almost become an annual thing attached to a mini vacay… we could cover all of the US! Now I’m brainstorming… that’s dangerous. But oh so exciting…

  4. ashleynashville3 April 26, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    WHOA! Way to fly girl!!!! I am so proud of you :-) I am thinking of St. Jude’s 1/2 in Dec in Memphis… put it on your calendar!

  5. Jessica April 26, 2010 at 5:47 pm #

    Abby! What an amazing time!!! :) You must be so happy! I had such a blast and definitely plan to run the race again next year. My time was 2:31:07 – not toooo bad for a first timer!

    I also really want to run the all women’s marathon in September…… Miiiiight be addicted.

  6. Jessica April 26, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    Whoops, I mean all women’s HALF marathon. No fulls for me anytime soon!

  7. Christy April 27, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    Congrats on finishing the half–and with a new PR!! I’m considering doing my first half marathon some time next year…I’m working up to it!

    • dearabbyleigh April 27, 2010 at 8:46 am #

      you got this, christy! it’s really just one step after another :) thanks!

  8. Lacy April 27, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    re-reading my comment, i mean to say 2:05:30.

    that’s way more of a risky bet, but one i would indeed win. please, you could have walked the thing in 2:30.

    my official last post.

  9. Brittany April 28, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    SO proud of you, friend! That’s amazing.

  10. d.a.r. April 28, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    Just found your blog, way to go!!! Definitely sign up for another in the fall :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Change of Plans « JayeWalking - April 28, 2010

    […] Abby Leigh- After fainting at the finish line last year, she came back with a vengeance this year, and some salt in her pocket. You’re welcome for being the drug […]

Leave a Reply

