saturday’s survival kit

20 Apr

saturday is the day.

half marathon numero tres.

let’s recap:

numero uno: walk/run, rolling in at 2:20, happy abby at the finish line.
numero dos: full run, no stops, 2:07 finish, delirious, loopy abby in the medical tent for an hour post-race, serious salt-deficiency discovered.

so where does that leave me this year? prepared. and pumped.

here’s my survival kit:

#1: a good hat is essential for my short-hair. i’ll be sporting pigtails under this puppy. plus, it’ll probably be raining, so this will keep that rat hair at bay.

#2: salt. apparently when you sweat out all your salt your body freaks out. or at least mine does. so i’ll be carrying these little guys to keep replenished, and out of the medi-tent.

#3: something bright. it’s amazing how many people run the country music half and marathon. it’s insane, and i get lost in the crowd. i wouldn’t want my 3 fans to miss me as i run by, so i’ll be wearing this (but not quite filling it out as well):

#4: something to chew on: 13.1 miles takes a little while. i get bored and need a boost, and something to snack on. these little guys are pretty tasty – like a gummy bear with a caffeine kick. kels and i will chompin’ on these in pomegranate and bluberry!

i’ll be ready. here’s to hoping this clears up

and we have a beautiful day to run.

third times a charm, right?

11 Responses to “saturday’s survival kit”

  1. Ashleigh (Heart and Home) April 20, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    So proud of you. My 13.1 attempt numero uno ended with a leg injury a month before the race. So my new goal is to run one by this time next year. Training at 10,300 ft elevation is only a plus.

    I’m gonna want to see pics of this, you know.

    • dearabbyleigh April 21, 2010 at 7:46 am #

      pictures? of course! the hubs is in charge of that, and maybe a little video! thanks friend!

  2. Chris Hollingsworth April 20, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    Good plan Kiddo…this time I will be there to cheer!

  3. Katie B. April 20, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    You are going to do so great! I’m proud of you, sister! Keep it up!

  4. Lacy April 20, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    your mom is coming? she can take my place times ten. cheer her on for me chris!

  5. Emily Elmore April 20, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    I love this, Abby! You’re going to do awesome. Keep up the good work and being an inspiration to us fellow runners :)

  6. Jessica Walker April 20, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

    I hope I see you at the race! :) Your times are amazing – I’m honestly just hoping to finish a little under 2:30! Good luck, and let’s just cross our fingers that the rain stays away. I hope you don’t end up in the medical tent again, as well!

    • dearabbyleigh April 21, 2010 at 7:46 am #

      i’ll be looking for you jessica! have fun!!

  7. Shawn Somerfield April 21, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    Great plan, Abby–I remember numero dos–we were at a girls’ getaway with your mom when she got the call…though she took it all very well. I know she’s excited about being there this year. Wish I could see you do this…I know you will conquer your time and the medical tent!

  8. ashleynashville3 April 21, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    go girl! i am so very impressed with your finish times, you killed mine from last year and i CANNOT believe you ran the entire time in that blistering heat. insane.

    i’ll be out there with ya, maybe you’ll pass me!

    GOOD LUCK!

Leave a Reply

