not me

21 Jan

i didn’t take this picture. a photog named Matthew McDermott – a nice sounding name – captured this precious moment. then i pulled it off twitter. i hope he doesn’t mind.

not only am i not the eye behind the lens, but i’m obviously not the glowing boy being pulled out of what’s left of his home in Haiti. i’m not the thin mother with strength beyond what she thought she would ever need. i’m not one of the heroes in red and white hats – like candy stripers with a kick, delivering hope and rescuing whatever they can find in a desolate place.

i’m not even the nameless guy in the background, so blurry you can’t see him clearly, but straining to catch a glimpse of the beautiful life being shared with this small circle of clapping spectators, the world of outsiders weeping from afar, and now – me.

i’m not there, but i could have been. and when i look at this picture, i feel pretty close.

2 Responses to “not me”

  1. Katie B. January 28, 2010 at 5:09 am #

    I love you, Sister

  2. Sara Sophia May 7, 2010 at 1:17 am #

    I saw you at Blissdom this past February.

    I said hello when you came to talk
    with my good friend Amber.
    (whom I imagine is your good friend too–seeing as how she is good friends with the world and everyone in it).

    I was so intimidated
    by your amazing haircut
    and stellar boots.

    I wish I’d said more.

    Your heart is kindred and oh so beautiful.

    -Sara Sophia

Leave a Reply

